Photoblocker.com spray review – Does it work and will it block red light and speed cameras and prevent you from getting a ticket?

PhotoBlocker spray scam

PhotoBlocker spray – another automotive product that doesn’t work at all and is a complete scam and ripoff!


A friend of mine showed me a spray can that he bought online for around $30. It was called PhotoBlocker and its purpose was to make a license plate unreadable for speed cameras at intersections. Supposedly it creates a very shiny or glossy surface on the license plate and this makes it so that a speed camera gets too much light reflected off the license plate to be able to read the plate – hence no ticket for speeding.

This sounds like a novel and interesting idea. But upon searching the Internet I found that the folks at Myth Busters, which is a great show that I like and trust on the Discovery Channel, proved that this PhotoBlocker spray and similar sprays were completely ineffective red light and speed cameras.

According to the folks at Myth Busters there is no difference between this $30 photo Blocker spray and a two dollar can of clear spray paint. Neither one of them will work to stop speeding tickets and if you do decide you still want to purchase one you might as well save $28 and get a can of clear spray paint at your local Wal-Mart for under two dollars!

My friend had applied it to his license plate. First he cleaned up his license plate and he used isopropyl alcohol to do that. I would have just use soap and water but he wanted to make sure that the paint got a good bond to his license plate and was as effective as possible. When he was done is play did look a little shinier, but not much different then when it was cleaned. Prior to being clean obviously there was a big difference.

Your Ad Here

I happen to have a can of clear spray paint I had bought for $1.49 at my local Wal-Mart. So I had cleaned off my license plate and sprayed it with the Wal-Mart clear coat. The funny thing is when I was done, my license plate actually looked shinier than his with the PhotoBlocker spray.

Unfortunately, I can’t tell you as to the effectiveness of either of these sprays for my own personal use as the local municipality decided to disable and stop using all of the speed trap cameras and similar. This was due to the state laws mandating that 80% of the revenues go to public education and this left virtually no money for the local government coffers and so currently we don’t have any working photo cameras around me – that’s actually a good thing.

In any case I am going to agree with the scientists and experts at Myth Busters that this product, PhotoBlocker spray and PhotoBlocker.com, are a scam and cannot possibly work to make license plates unreadable to red light and speed cameras as stated in their advertisements and on their website. Upon looking at the finished product, it is obviously just a vastly overpriced can of clear coat spray paint.

If you want to try it yourself, as I’ve stated earlier, you would be better off just going and getting a can of clear spray paint at your local Wal-Mart or automotive store like AutoZone.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to Photoblocker.com spray review – Does it work and will it block red light and speed cameras and prevent you from getting a ticket?

  1. Mikey002 on July 26, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    I agree with you. I bought the PhotoBlocker stuff a few years back and it sucks. I got 2 tickets right after it from red light mounted speeding cameras. It definitely doesn’t work and, you’re right, it does look just like a clear coat spray – what a rip off. You pay $30 for a $2 can of clear coat spray paint. PhotoBlocker.com is a scam and a ripoff!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 1

  2. Alan on November 19, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    Yes do not buy this it is a scam I bought it and try with so many different cameras and still takes perfect licence plate photos so it is not wort it ………….. Unless one day they really come up with a real photo blocker spray:))))soryyyyyy to say this but the photblocker spray product is a 100% SCAM!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 2

  3. B.K. on April 22, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    Just got a traffic ticket w/ photo in the mail(first in nearly 15 years!)-$78 for doing 37 in a 25mph zone on a 4 lane city street where the posted speed inexplicably drops from 35 to 25 for about 150 yards.Remembered the TV ads for the Photoblocker stuff, and that Maryland had made it illegal to sell in this state shortly after its introduction. Checked online and saw that the product has gotten nearly universally negative reviews. But why have several states made it illegal to use? Will it actually work in some very specific conditions (right type of camera,right type of flash,right weather conditions,day/night, a certain angle, etc.)? These traffic cams are everywhere here in the Balto./DC area, and really piss me off.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. V.J.Lazarus on April 26, 2011 at 4:33 AM

    I ordered & paid for the spray quite a while back. To date, no delivery and no answer to my e-mail queries. Blatant ripoff?? I’m not holding my breath on this one.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  5. George Shelley on July 11, 2011 at 6:07 PM

    Their website was pretty convincing on the efficacy of their spray, but after I paid for the minumum order of two cans (for an experiment)the spray cans never showed up. However, the other item I ordered (the plastic diffusion lens) did arrive. When I attempted to contact them all of their U.S. toll free numbers were disconected. So I called them on June 30, 2011 on their International number (571) 594-4761 to complain and spoke with a fellow named Robert Anderson. Robert assured me that he would mail the sprays out that day. The spray cans never arrived. When I attempted to call again ALL of their numbers (including the international number) have been disconnected. Clearly, after reading the “glowing” customer reports on this website they all took a powder and disappeared. My only hope is to call my credit card company and try to get the charges reversed. Good luck to all of the rest of you suckers out there. –George, AKA Sucker #1

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. Jessica on August 4, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    For those not convinced that PhotoBlocker Spray works, please take time to read/watch what the media found out (check the links below)

    We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced trying our old numbers, but please call us at 1800 359 2562 and we will be happy to answer your questions.

    Fox 31 :
    Denver, CO
    “Surprisingly Effective!”

    Please follow the link for more media review.

    phantomplate.com/review.htm

    KXAN: Austin, TX
    “It blinded our cameras!”

    TECH TV
    “It works! You can beat Big Brother!”

    “This spray makes license plates illegible by traffic-enforcement cameras by reflecting the flash back at the camera.”
    Wall Street Journal

    “License-plate spray foils traffic cameras”
    Washington Times

    “license plate spray cancels out red-light cameras”
    Delaware Online

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. V.J.Lazarus on August 11, 2011 at 5:09 AM

    I sprayed the plates as per the provided instructions. It does not work. I’ve since, received speeding tickets!!
    This product is a ripoff!!!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  8. dmch on August 16, 2011 at 10:59 PM

    This product cannot work in principle. A glossy finish will only “blind” a camera when the flash is aimed directly at the plate–a very special situation and we all know those cameras are always at an angle. Heck, my new IL license plate just came in the mail and it’s already glossy! The idea behind license plate design and reflective paints used is that it reflects tons of light back in the direction it came from, no matter what angle. So forget wasting 30 dollars on this scam, slow down and watch those lights. If you see yellow, and can clear half the intersection in next 3 seconds, go for it, if not–stop or you’ll get a ticket!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  9. Cdalia on September 14, 2011 at 10:58 AM

    I applied this can of photo blocker to my license plates a few months back & also tested it by taking my own camera shots (at an angle and different feet away from the car)……in my pics all you saw was a white fuzzy/blurry license plate – the # was not legible !!!! but i too just got a ticket in the mail last week for a red light offense – therefore, it DOES NOT work !! don’t waste your $$$$

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Enter a complaint Enter a review Enter a compliment

Search Website

Archives

Your Ad Here
Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection