Value City Furniture review – do they have good quality furniture at great prices or do they sell junk?

Value City Furniture Review

Value City Furniture – the Kmart of furniture stores – good for apartments and such, but not good for a nice home.


Have you been to a Value City Furniture store? I recently went to one and the ads that I saw in the newspaper made it look like it was a tremendous deal with high quality furniture at great prices. The pictures in the advertisements made their furniture look as good if not better than Ashley furniture. Being that their prices were less than half of that of Ashley furniture I and my wife decided to go and check out the nearest Value City Furniture in South Charlotte, North Carolina.

When we got there it definitely wasn’t as nice as the Ashley furniture showroom nearest to us on Harris Blvd. just from walking in the door I could tell that Ashley furniture was definitely more upscale and the Value City furniture store reminded me more of Kmart. As we walked around we noticed that the couches and seats tended to be smaller than the comparable ones at other furniture stores.

We also noticed that there was a lot of cheap fake leather furniture everywhere. From vinyl to other forms of fake leather it appeared there wasn’t much that was real. It looked more like furnishings for a college apartment. This did not look like furniture or you would want to have in a nice home. We looked around and around and went through the whole entire store and did not find a single thing that we thought was a good value or something that we would want to have in our home.

Your Ad Here

Now the difference is if I walk in to Ashley furniture I can find tons of stuff that is high quality, real leather – top-notch leather at that, and that I would want in my home. Now, if you are a college student or similar then Value City furniture may be right up your alley. Their prices are not terrible, but you cannot expect long-lasting and high-quality workmanship with their furniture. If you’re only looking for something to last a few years while you’re in college then Value City Furniture may be the right place for you.

But if on the other hand you are looking for furniture to last for many years, to be highly comfortable and have high-quality construction then you definitely do not want to go to Value City Furniture. My recommendation for the best value would definitely have to be Ashley furniture. I have bought numerous pieces of furniture from there to include two leather couches that still look great and have lasted over eight years with three little boys. You will not get that from Value City Furniture.


Tags: , , , Furniture stores, , , Value City Furniture

10 Responses to Value City Furniture review – do they have good quality furniture at great prices or do they sell junk?

  1. rebekah on July 26, 2010 at 10:43 AM

    Is this post a joke?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

  2. Spreche2 on July 26, 2010 at 10:51 AM

    Hey, not everyone has a nice home. I have an apartment and was laid off from my job 2 years ago. I can barely make ends meet and am proud of the fact that I can somehow still have an apartment and a roof over my head. Value City Furniture is fine with me as it is all I can afford.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

  3. M. Beth on September 24, 2010 at 12:10 AM

    NOTE — This comment is written by an employee or executive of Value City Furniture.— NOTE

    Hey you can all suck a dick. VCF has a ton of high quality furniture. I have worked there for 4 years. Yes we have cheap stuff, but we have a lot of quality pieces. You are all assholes by the way. Please show us some respect.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 4

  4. Paulie on September 24, 2010 at 11:11 AM

    M. Beth,
    Nice language. Whether or not you like Value City Furniture because you work there (your opinion would most likely be different if you didn’t and maybe after your language in your post you may not continue to be!), the people that post here like me all have a right to their opinions. My opinion is, unfortunately for you and your coworkers, the same as those above – Value City Furniture is of very low quality and it definitely is no Ethan Allen or Haverty’s. However, it does serve a purpose. Their stuff is great for waiting rooms, drug rehab centers, day care centers and for college kids that just want cheap crap furniture.

    Paulie

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

  5. ed on April 10, 2011 at 12:20 PM

    I bought a sofa and loveseat from them last fall using the 6 month no interest payment plan. I havent even finished paying it off yet and both couches sag like they were 10 years old. you can feel the wood supports through the armrests like they arent even there and the fabric looks worn out. On top of it all the salesman lied and conned me into buying fabic protection that would cover rips, stains wearing out virtually anything. He said it was perfect if you owned a pet. That was the only reason I bought it. After reading the warranty a couple of weeks later on what it covers it said rips and tears caused by pets was not covered. I went to the store and they basically put it bluntly that that was too bad. Tough luck. I bought the furniture there instead of raymour and Flanagans with the reasoning if even if it did wear out faster I could buy 2 sets of the same furniture compared to one at raymour. Big mistake. I’m not even going to get a year out of this furniture, It doesnt get abused, if the dog happens to get up there its not very often and doesnt really do any damage. Has far as I am concerned this furniture is absolute garbage and the salesmen are nothing but a bunch of liars who swarm all over you when you walk in the store. My advise is to spend a little extra money even if you cant really afford it and buy some quality furniture somewhere else that you wont have to replace every year.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. masti on May 23, 2011 at 4:12 PM

    We bought around $20,000 furniture from value city and found that they make really cheap..one or the other stuff has one by one problem..there extended service plan sucks and after knowing the fact of safety concern they still not allow to do resection..they are waiting for the warranty get over so we end up buying other stuff from them..are you out of your mind..we will buy from any other place in the world not from your cheap store and will make sure that you loose other customer too..I am associated to internet media so will make sure that you loose plenty of customer because of your cheap services..

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. Harvey on June 4, 2011 at 6:33 PM

    City Furniture has a delivery system that is absolutely horrible. When you purchase an item from City the salesperson can check the inventory to assure you the item is in stock, however, the warehouse does not reserve your item for delivery until 5 days before the delivery date. The result is that if the stock of an item like dining room chairs is low you will possibly not get your chairs when your table arrives. When the sales person tells you it is in stock you may not get it if your delivery date is more than 5 days off. This happened to me and I have not received all the items ordered and paid for in over two months even though I was told the items were in stock.
    I was initially told only 11 of my 19 items would be delivered the next day. Only 9 items were delivered and three were in such bad condition I would not accept them. One item was soo bad the delivery men would not even take it off the truck.
    Stay away from City Furniture. I believe most of the furniture comes from China.
    Customer Service will tell you “that’s the way the system works” we cannot do anything about it.
    I eventully cancelled the remainder of the order.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  8. Teresa on January 6, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    Sadly, it is crap. My husband and I bought two of their HIGHER end couches on November 21, 2011 .. on December 28th, 2011 I had them come out and look at our furniture, as it is falling apart ALREADY. The couch is unraveling, the seams have split, it’s SHEDDING. We purchased the extended fabric protection .. and the the gentleman that came out told me that NONE Of it was covered by the fabric protection plan! I am fortunate though, that the manager is allowing us to return this JUNK for more JUNK. We have to go pick out new furniture tomorrow, for them to pick up the current items. UGH BUYER BEWARE.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  9. Teresa on January 11, 2012 at 8:11 AM

    Good News .. we were not able to find anything that we would like to purchase from VCF, so they are picking up our couches and giving us nearly ALL our money back (total credit, less the delivery fee) .. we had our couches less than a full month, and they began to fall apart :( the manager didn’t want to refund my fabric protection, or my extended warranty .. and asked me if I would be okay with that. I told him NO, I would probably file a complaint if he did that .. so he gave it all back. we went to Macy’s .. and have purchase an amazing couch and two chairs that we will love for years.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  10. Mrs. M. on March 30, 2012 at 2:09 PM

    All I can say is: You get what you pay for.

    My husband bought a couch and loveseat at VCF a little over 2 years ago. They are the standard beige microfiber, “comfy” couches and they were cheap.

    We both work full time and spend weekends mostly running around. We don’t have any kids or dogs. In other words, these couches have not been overused or abused in any way, shape or form.

    However, the big sofa has a tear in one of the cushions. We have no idea how it even got there. The stuffing in the arms of the sofas has completely bunched-up and shifted around. When you sit on the loveseat and put your arm on it, all you feel is the hard plywood frame. They look TERRIBLE. The cushions slide and sag and simply will not stay put. It is the sloppiest looking set I’ve ever seen.

    Long story short, I’d never buy anything from VCF again. My parents’ set from Raymour and Flanigan was affordable, has lasted 13 years and looks/feels WAY better than our 2 year old VCF set!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Enter a complaint Enter a review Enter a compliment

Search Website

Archives

Your Ad Here
Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection