Plato’s Closet Complaint – Tried Selling My $30 Shoes Which I Wore Twice and They Would Only Give Me $4.50!

Are you a teenager who can’t afford to go out to the mall and buy brand new clothes from stores like Hollister, American Eagle, and many others? Or are you one of those teenagers who has so many clothes you don’t know what to do with them?  Well there is a place that will suit the lifestyles of both teenagers that I just listed.  The place that I am speaking about is Plato’s Closet, which is sort of like a consignment shop for clothing.

Plato’s Closet has clothing for both teenage boys and girls.  If you are looking to get rid of clothing that you may not want anymore Plato’s Closet will buy your clothes off of you, to sell them in their store.  Plato’s closet is a good place for college students who don’t have a lot of money to go out and buy all brand new clothes, especially when they are trying to pay for school and textbooks.

Plato’s Closet has a rather strict buying system that they rarely deviate from.  I recently went into a Plato’s Closet next to me in Charlotte, NC to try and sell two pairs of shoes that I no longer wear.  I walked into the store thinking that I would be able to get maybe 40-50% of what I paid for the shoes back, when Plato’s Closet purchased them from me.  Well, I was sadly mistaken about my thoughts on Plato’s Closet.

I have always heard stories about my friends and other students taking their gently used clothing to Plato’s Closet and getting a decent amount of money for their clothing.  All my life I have always had someone to give my hand-me-downs to, but since I moved I no longer have connections to girls younger than me, so I decided that I would try to make some of my money back from the clothes that I no longer wear.  Like I said before, I took two pairs of shoes there trying to get some money back for them and was disappointed when I walked out of the store.

Your Ad Here

Plato’s Closets’ buying rules are that they usually price your items at 70% in their stores, and then you only get 30% of what they are going to sell it for.  This is a complete rip-off to those trying to sell their clothes and actually make some money!  One of the pairs of shoes that I was trying to sell were worth $30 and they were only going to give me $4.50 for them!  I was not about to get such little money, especially for a pair of shoes that I only wore twice.

I personally think that Plato’s Closet is a rip-off for those who are looking to sell items and make money, and is a god-send for those who are looking to save money on new clothes for school or just for fun.  Plato’s Closet only buys name brand clothing from stores like Aeropostale, Hollister, American Eagle, Old Navy, and many other high-priced stores, and sells them for about 40% less money than what people would usually buy them for.

To put it nicely, if you are so rich that you are willing to basically give up your clothes for free to a store who can make an amazing profit off of them then Plato’s Closet is the place for you to bring your clothes.  And to those of you who are not that well off, go to Plato’s Closet and take advantage of their clothes!

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to Plato’s Closet Complaint – Tried Selling My $30 Shoes Which I Wore Twice and They Would Only Give Me $4.50!

  1. Sara on January 19, 2011 at 10:59 PM

    Are you serious? 40-50%? Why in the hell would you expect that much for USED shoes? Plato’s sells there clothing at that high of a discount. How do you expect them to make money?? WOW, ingorant of how the world works, huh?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0

  2. Jen on February 4, 2011 at 11:30 PM

    Then don’t sell it there and quit complaining. Keep your shoes.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

  3. liz on May 22, 2011 at 6:34 PM

    of course they will buy them for that much; its a consignment store!! they usually sell brand name shoes and other clothing articles for $5-$25. They want to make profit so they can buy other peoples gently used clothing. If your complaining about this thing, 1: don’t sell it there or 2: keep the shoes. No one really cares… and p.s. if you were a smart shopper, those shoes could have been cheaper than $30.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. gems on July 22, 2011 at 12:15 AM

    $4.50 is not bad actually. I don’t think you are being realistic about this situation. Its really not about you making a ton of money. They run a business where they have to pay employees, rent, electricity. I really doubt you would get more than $4.50 if you sold them on Ebay after their listing and final value fees. Yard sale, NO WAY, for $30 shoes you would get $2 at best. They are USED SHOES, which are gross to many people, not a huge market fight for this item. Maybe if they were $400+ high end designer shoes you would have some interest, but not in this situation.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  5. Mila on August 26, 2011 at 7:55 AM

    hmm thats funny….if you were to give them to salvation army you would be giving them up for free, but they are used..so what do you expect..try bringing them back..you can’t.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  6. Robert Herrington on September 14, 2011 at 10:54 PM

    #1 rule of business is to make a fair deal. This rule obviously has been ignored and trampled on. Plato’s closet is a huge rip off to anyone trying to sell clothing. As a consumer seller of course you are going to get a bad deal, but Plato’s closet really does offer little to nothing. Sure they have a business to run and what not but so do you. Its called the business of yourself. They should be more fair. I only suggest Plato’s to people who desperately need to liquidate clothing into quick cash.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  7. Alex on September 29, 2011 at 8:05 PM

    Platos Closet is such a waste of time. Please read my story about how horrible it is.

    I arrived at Platos Closet with my Mom the other day. The moment I stepped in I gagged at the smell. It reeked of what smelled like gym socks. I took in my 2 full trashbags and pink uggs and set them on the counter. A teenager came over to the counter.
    “Hi.” the teenager said in a snobby voice. She was about 16.
    “Hi, well my daughter has two bags and a pair of pink uggs to sell.” my mom said.
    “Yeah okay. Well we’re not buying the uggs because they are too old and worn. Nobody will buy them.” the teenager said, again with a snobby voice. Wow… I bought the uggs like 6 months months ago. What was her problem.
    “Well, what about the clothes?” I asked.
    “Well we’ll look through them. But chances are they won’t be our league. It’ll take about 20 minutes, so why don’t you look around at what you COULD have.” she said. She gave us a snobbish look, took the bags and walked away. I felt like slapping her across the face.
    I went to the Girls section and searched through the crowded racks. I found like 2 shirts that I liked, and I had to tug really hard to get them off. When I finally got the one I wanted off, a saw 2 big red stains on it. I forced it back on the rack and picked out another one. I examined it carefully, and checked the price. It was $10. Not a name brand though. Low priced? I don’t think so. But since I had a 20 dollar bill in my pocket, I figured I’d get it anyway. I rest it on my shoulder, and walked over to a different rack. I saw a hollister shirt that looked really cool. I forced it off the rack only to see it was tangled up with a ripped Miley Cyrus scarf. It took me 10 minutes to get it untangled. I looked at the price. $6. I rested that on my shoulder and walked over to the checkout. Before I could pay, my Mom called me over to where she was at, with the same snobbish teenager behind the counter. She gave me a container that held one of the clothing items from the bag. It was my old American Eagle sweatshirt.
    “We’ve decided we’ll buy this one. The other clothes aren’t that big of name brands or are to old to sell. If you want to make decent money here, then you need to bring stuff that is basically brand new and actually stylish. The other stuff is to old. So are you going to sell this to us or what?” the snobby teenager said.
    “How much are you going to give me for it?” I asked.
    “$6.00″
    “Well can I trade it for this top?” I said, I hung out the one top with my hands.
    “I guess, well hurry up we got customers with cooler clothes waiting.” the teenager said in an even snobbier voice. She shoved the bags into my moms hands and the uggs into mine. Then, she walked over to the teenage guy at the checkout, whispered something in his ear, and walked away. I went over to the checkout.
    “Hi, I’m trading this top in, and buying this one.”
    “Yeah yeah the lady told me.” he said. He grabbed the shirts off my shoulder and took off the steal censors. He gave me a reciept and a bag and pointed at the door. I left with my mom.

    No way I’m ever going back. Just wanted to share my story so you don’t get dissapointed like I did.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  8. Alice on April 9, 2012 at 9:02 PM

    Lol. That is literally the biggest exaggeration I have ever heard in my life, Alex. I don’t believe a word of it.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Enter a complaint Enter a review Enter a compliment

Search Website

Archives

Your Ad Here
Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection